Painless Exercises for Back Problems

85% of Americans have back-related problems.  My initial experience with back problems was when I was demonstrating  to my students a rowing technique. I tried to impress them by making the weights heavier than I should have.  It was the same weight as my body weight, pulling it in a bent over position.  I started feeling nauseous, and the room starting turning black.

My next experience was doing squats that were twice my body weight.  Many years down the road I found out that my disc in my back slipped, causing pain while I was in certain positions.  I was diagnosed to have Spondylolisthesis. I found Pilates as my exercise of choice for my back care.  I’ve been a personal trainer for 22 yrs. Pilates is a whole new paradigm shift for me.  I have now been practicing Pilates for 3 years and am a certified Stott Pilates Instructor.  I want to share the benefits of Pilates, especially to men who would benefit the most from this type of training.

Posted on March 31, 2010, in Back Problems, Injury Prevention, Pilates, Pilates for Men and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

